The role of the Patient Safety Commissioner was set up seven months ago to promote the safety of medicines and medical devices, to promote the voices of patients and the public and to help the government to listen to patients and act on their views.

The Patient Safety Commssioner Henrietta Hughes has established an advisory group to provide guidance for her work.

The membership is:

  • Louise Ansari, National Director of Healthwatch
  • Rabbi Dr Harvey Belovski, Chief Rabbi of Golders Green Synagogue
  • Helen Buckingham, Director of strategy and operations at the Nuffield Trust and chair of National Voices
  • Saffron Cordery, Deputy Chief Executive, NHS Providers
  • Baroness Julia Cumberlege, chair of the Independent Medicines and Medical Devices Safety Review
  • Dr Mike Durkin, Senior Advisor on Patient Safety Policy and Leadership at the Institute of Global Health Innovation and the Global Patient Safety Collaborative
  • Ian Green, Chair of Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust, and a NED at South Central Ambulance NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Habib Naqvi, Chief Executive of the NHS Race and Health Observatory
  • Rachel Power, Chief Executive of the Patients Association.

The first meeting took place on 23rd March 2023.