Congratulations to the winners of the third annual AbbVie Big Ideas for Better Health Awards. Lymphoma Action, Arthur’s Place, and the Parkinson’s Advanced Symptom Unit (PASU) set up by South Tees Hospitals were the winning teams.

The Awards celebrate and share exceptional examples of improvements and innovation that demonstrate clear benefit to the lives of patients. The winners were selected by an independent panel of judges led by Patients Association Chief Executive Rachel Power, and were presented by Matt Hancock, Secretary of State for Health and Social Care.

Healthcare organisations and patient groups across the UK were asked to submit examples of work in three categories:

  • Delivering care closer to home (winner: Arthur’s Place)
  • Supporting self-management and self-care (winner: Lymphoma Action)
  • Driving prevention and early intervention (winner: PASU set up by South Tees Hospitals)

The winning teams demonstrated an exceptional commitment to patient care and to improving patient experience. Arthur’s Place, an online magazine and social network, do some incredible work, helping more than 2,000 young adults with arthritis every month.

Lymphoma Action, the UK’s only charity dedicated to lymphoma, set out to improve patients’ quality of life through their incredible Live your Life project. Parkinson’s Advanced Sympton Unit (PASU), a pilot scheme based at Redcar Primary Care Hospital, provides important specialist care to those with Parkinson’s disease. 

Winners receive a £3,000 bursary to extend their project or pilot new ideas for the benefit of patients and/or the NHS.

Thanks to everyone who played a part in the awards ceremony, including AbbVie for hosting, the judges for sharing their expert opinions, the teams who submitted entries, and all those who attended the ceremony at the House of Commons.

It’s fantastic to see so much innovative and patient-centred work taking place to improve patient experience and outcome – we’re already looking forward to next year’s awards.  

More information on the awards can be found here

23 November 2018